When deciding whether to become an Airbnb Host, it's important for you to understand the laws in your city. As a platform and marketplace we do not provide legal advice, but we want to provide some useful links that may help you better understand laws and regulations in Chicago, IL. This list is not exhaustive, but it should give you a good start in understanding your local laws.
If you have additional questions, contact your government agency directly or consult a local lawyer or tax professional.
Host registration requirement
If you only host for 32 days or more at a time, you do not need a registration number to publish your listing.
If you host for 1 to 31 days at a time, you are required to add a short-term rental registration number to your listing.
Step 1: Obtain a short term rental registration number
Step 2: Once you receive your registration number, add it to your Airbnb listing.
Government contact information
We recommend reviewing these general FAQs.
For specific questions, contact the City of Chicago at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 312.744.6249.
For technical issues with the Shared Housing Registration Portal, contact email@example.com.
The Department of Business Affairs and Consumer Protection is located at:
121 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 6060
Who is eligible to register?
Note: The City of Chicago defines primary residence as "the dwelling unit where a person lives on a daily basis at least 245 days in the applicable calendar year."
How long does it take to get your registration number?
It may take several weeks to issue a registration number depending on the number of applications.
Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for the latest registration time estimate.
How much does it cost to register?
There is a $125 shared housing registration fee.
Is there a step by step registration guide?
Are you planning on registering more than one shared housing unit?
If so, the City of Chicago considers you a Shared Housing Unit Operator. You are required to obtain a Shared Housing Unit Operator license before applying for any additional registrations. The Shared Housing Operator license fee is $250.
Review these Shared Housing Unit Operator license FAQs.
Chicago imposes a 4.5% Hotel Accommodations Tax, 4% Shared Housing Surcharge, and 2% Domestic Violence Surcharge on the listing price including any cleaning fee for reservations 29 nights and shorter. Airbnb collects and remits these taxes and fees in Chicago.
Cook County also imposes a 1% Hotel Accommodations Tax on the listing price including any cleaning fee for reservations 29 nights and shorter. Airbnb collects and remits this tax in Cook County.
The State of Illinois also imposes certain hotel taxes that may apply to your listing as described here. Airbnb collects and remits these taxes in Illinois.
Airbnb isn’t responsible for the reliability or correctness of the information contained in any links to third party sites (including any links to legislation and regulations).
- HostitelPodmínky platné u tvých nabídek se mohou lišit v závislosti na městě, kraji, státě, provincii, území a/nebo zemi.
- HostNěkterá města vyžadují, aby si hostitelé vyřídili licenci nebo registrační číslo. V tomto poli můžou hostitelé uvést registrační číslo.
- HostitelPoplatky za hosty navíc budou zahrnuty pouze u rezervací zamluvených v budoucnu.